The Euro

Bank cards in Europe – The Euro

euroCurrency: The Bank cards in Europe, Euro (EUR, €) is the most common currency in Europe, but there are still a few countries that use their own currency. These unfamiliar currencies can be a little confusing. Small bills (1€/2€ and £1/£2) have been put back by coins, so don’t be surprised when you get a bunch of coins back.

The Euro: The Euro is the exclusive currency of 19 EU member states:

Countries such as Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain are Euro zones.

Other countries that use the Euro as currency (but aren’t members of the euro zone) include Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City, Kosovo, Montenegro.

Other Countries That Don’t Use Euro:

Iceland, Norway, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, United Kingdom (Wales, Scotland, England, Northern Ireland), Moldova, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, Latvia, Lithuania, Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Albania, Serbia, Croatia, FYR Macedonia, Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Exchange Rates: The exchange rate is a way to show how much one currency is worth with regard to other. The rates change daily. You want to make sure you know the current exchange rate so you’re alert of what you’re spending. It is attractive simple with the Euro, Pound and Swiss Franc but it gets more confusing in Eastern Europe because each country uses their own currency and the number values on bills are very high.

Translate »