Republic of Ireland : 26th December

Ireland, also known as the Republic of Ireland, is a country in north-western Europe occupying 26 of 32 counties of the island of Ireland. The capital and prime city is Dublin. Ireland ranks among the top 25 wealthiest countries in the world in terms of GDP per capital and as the tenth most successful country in the world according to The Legatum Prosperity Index 2015.

St. Stephen’s Day: An Irish Christmas ritual

St. Stephen’s Day is a nationalised holiday in Ireland. The St. Stephen’s Day is the day for “Hunting the Wren” or “Going on the Wren.”

The festivity of Saint Stephen is a Christian saint’s day to celebrate Saint Stephen, the first Christian sufferer for a cause celebrated on 26 December in the Latin Church and 27 December in Eastern Christianity.

In the Republic of Ireland, the day is one of 9 official public holidays. It is a public holiday in Alsace-Moselle, Austria, the Balearic Islands, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Catalonia, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, the Republic of Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Ukraine, and Switzerland

2 thoughts on “Republic of Ireland : 26th December

  1. furtdso linopv

    I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this site. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your web site?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »